Just bought a Crossfire Pro, what should I start studyiing?

I just bought a Crossfire Pro with THC, it is my first time using anything CNC. With a 5-7 week backorder I have some time to learn about how to use the machine. With zero experience in plasma tables or CNC I know there is going to be a learning curve and I thought I would reach out to the forum and ask for some recommendations on where to start, any good videos about how to use the software? I’m mechanically inclined so I don’t expect any assembly issues but I know I will need to bone up on how to use the software. Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Decide what cad cam software you plan to use and start now. I started with fusion 360 liked it. But I don’t use it because it isn’t a standalone program. I do some of my cad work while at work no internet.

If you are going to design your own pieces, definitely start learning CAD.
I also like Fusion 360. One of the coolest features is being able to import a picture of a template you’ve made, and F360 will convert that to a sketch very easily. This AM Custom Fab guy has a video showing how to import/convert.

AM Custom fab - YouTube

The free, non-commercial F360 membership is plenty for the average user. It does restrict the number of saved files you can have, but that is a small thing for me. And as said, not stand alone, so you need internet connection.

Start reading all the threads about issues with FireControl. A lot of people (me too) have struggled with signal interferences, lack of grounding, torch won’t fire, software freezes up, torch… Depending on the age of your laptop, you may have to use an earlier version as opposed to the most recent release of the software. My 5yr old Dell with Win 10 needs the 2nd most recent release to work.

Study up on your plasma cutter. Make sure you have a cut table for settings with various metals.