First cuts finally! - Issues - need some guidance

I finally got my machine to the first cut. Which is pretty sweet.

But it doesn’t complete my initial design. It will cut the first shape, move to the next position, torch will locate the material, move to the next cutting position and throw the “no voltage detected” error. I have increased and decreased my pierce delay and feed rate and doesn’t seem to make any difference. It will cut the next shape, and then throw the same error. over and over. Pic 1

I read a few posts, and turned off my THC to see what it would do. It then cut through the whole design - but for each shape, it looked as though it started in a random spot, and exited through the lead out correctly - but didn’t complete the shape. See the pic2.

I have no idea if the 2 issues are related or not. The THC appears to be working properly as I get good + voltage.

i’m cutting 16 gauge mild steel with a fine cut sync cartridge on a powermax 65.
I’m brand new to this, so I’m using the Hypertherm cutting guides for my settings in fusion360.
pierce height/cutting height: .14
40 amps
pierce delay: .2
cut speed 150 ipm

I’m hoping to figure this out. and honestly i’m not sure if it’s a firecontrol THC issue, or a Fusion360 issue. Need some guidance.

Thanks in advance,
J

Pierce delay is real short, although I’m not familiar with Hypertherm machines.

Why not run a .5 second pierce delay?

By the way, no pics are shown at all.

thanks - added the pics

Pierce delay is too short. Hypertherm measures delay from the time the torch actually fires. Firecontrol measures from the time the signal to fire the torch is sent. You need to add about .3 seconds to the delays in the Hypertherm chart.

Firecontrol always makes the first delay longer than the programmed delay(I don’t know why, but it does). This is why it works for the first cut and fails on the next.

1 Like