Water Handling - why transfer to storage barrel

I am new to this and am enjoying the adventure.
I have the table assembled and successfully ran the ‘break in’ program, and completed running air to the plasma cutter, and am now turning my attention to the water and water handling.
I decided to go with Sterling Cool as it appears this is a good product to control rust and to keep the water somewhat clean.
I see where many people implement water storage systems, where they transfer water from the water table to storage barrels, and then have a method to transfer the water from the storage barrels back to the water table.
What is the purpose/advantage of storing the water in storage barrels instead of just leaving it in the table? Is evaporation a concern? If yes, can you cover the table with a tarp, would that reduce evaporation?
Thank you,

I don’t love the tarp idea personally, it seems to me that you will still have some amount of evaporation but now it will be confined to the terrarium under the tarp. It will be all over your machine instead of the shop. I’m sure someone on here has done it and will either say I’m crazy and it works fine or confirms my suspicion. If you have it on wheels and want to fill it close to the top you have to take some out anyway. In my opinion, it is just a tidier solution. You don’t have to do it but for me it’s a hobby and just one more part of that.

I use compressed air to fill it back up so I have way less than a $100 in it.

Thank you Scott for your reply and insight.
I don’t know what to expect with leaving water in the table.
Usually stagnant water will grow algae but, I understood that Sterling Cool would keep the algae out, and it would be relatively clean water other than the color will be dirty/brown looking.
I guess my primary question is ‘why’? What problem(s) are you resolving with a water storage system?