Maisonvi "Build" Thread

Im used to car forums, so I thought I’d make a “build” thread on here to post my stuff vs constantly making posts for the things I do with reference to the MR1. Hopefully thats less annoying.

My background is Im a mechanical engineer at an automation company, but Ive worked in 3 or 4 machine shops before getting my degree and doing design. I miss the ability to make stuff and now am slowly building up a small shop in my barn to make parts for my race car and other things.

I didnt build my MR1, I ordered it fully assembled. Was one of the first people a year ago to put down a deposit minute one of pre-orders, and I just got it this past Friday. With my work schedule, renovating a house and two young kids, I knew there was no way I was going to be able to find time to put it together.

But as I said, delivered last Friday. They dropped it off at the end of my (100 yard long) driveway, which was less than ideal. But with some OSHA safety violations, and an hour of work, I got it to my barn and off the pallet.

Now I need to level it and run the spindle break in procedure. Hopefully I can find time this week to do that.

4 Likes

I’m curious about your jack setup. I don’t understand how that let you pull the machine off of the pallet. Did you use a pair of jacks?

It’s interesting to see the X bracing that Langmuir added for the move. Makes sense and easy to do. Someday I’ll put my machine on casters and can temporarily install X-bracing when I’m moving it.

I used 2 floor jacks to lower each side one 2x4 height at a time so it didnt come down too fast and tip over. Still, balancing the mill on a stack of four 2x4s was kinda sketchy.

2 Likes

Few things here today as well. I ordered the toe clamp kit. DIdnt like the idea of it just haning out in a box or on the bench, so I 3D printed a holder for the kit.