Water table leaks

i know in the past with other LS tables many people ran into issues with leaks coming from where the 2 water trays bolted together. Has something changed in the design of the XR compared to the other tables that the leaks aren’t as much of an issue anymore for example clamping design, sealant type, procedure, etc… is welding still the go to fix all?? is the marine grade sealant provided the best option?? @langmuir-daniel @langmuirsystems

Yes so far we have not had any reports of water table leaks on XR. The joint design is similar, but the marine sealant is a much better adhesive for the application. We are working on getting the same adhesive for CrossFire PRO water tables.

3 Likes

do you think the marine grade sealant is the best option? i work in the aircraft industry and was thinking about substituting if for some 890 fuel tank sealant they use one aircrafts…

Im not familiar with 890, but marine grade sealant we feel is the best adhesive for this application. The bond strength is very high, it remains flexible, and its rated for constant underwater environment.

2 Likes

I am worried about the sealant too. I looked at the tube but it doesn’t say what type of material it is. I am tempted to use 3m window weld instead.

1 Like

Every pic or video I’ve seen has been this…

1 Like

We haven’t receive any reports of any leaks using PL Marine. You can of course make your own decision, but we have never tested that adhesive for continuous underwater application and therefore can’t say if it would hold up over time the way that PL Marine will.

2 Likes

I had a small leak in the corner where one piece met the next. But it could have been from me not applying the sealant equally or missing a bolt to tighten.