Water table fluid

What additive are you guys using for your water in your water table?

2 Likes

A few tablespoons of Sodium Nitrite powder works really well to prevent rust on the slats and whatever material you are cutting. We have also found that borax powder works well too- the benefit of borax powder is that you can buy it at home depot.

4 Likes

Or at the supermarket in the detergent aisle :slight_smile:

Anyone else remember the old western TV shows with the “20 Mule Team” sponsor? I think Reagan was in it :smile:

3 Likes

This is a recipe from another plasma cutting forum, I have no experience with it but would be curious to find out if anyone else has.

Here’s the recipe for home-made PlasmaQuench
1/4 pound of sodium nitrite powder ($15/pound) “anti-rust additive” NOTE: nitrite NOT nitrate!
1 teaspoon of Physan 20 ($8/8oz bottle) “antibacterial/antifungal additive”
1 oz Ultramarine blue food-grade dye ($5/oz.) “color added so folks won’t drink out of it!”
Mix well, treats 75 gallons of water.
All prices include tax and/or shipping.

11 Likes

We have tested this recipe and it works well.

6 Likes

What’s the actual fluid volume of the water table assuming its filled to the minimum distance to the top of the slats?

Their formula suggests that 1/4lb (4oz) of Sodium Nitrite would treat 75 gallons so that around .05oz per gallon. I lack the chemistry background to know if that is a valid way to scale the formula and if there is a point at which the solution would be to strong if under diluted.

What’s a good source for the Sodium Nitrite in reasonable quantities? It’s on Amazon but as you can imagine it is not a big seller there so feedback on the quality of the product being offered is minimal.

We typically put about 5 gallons into the water table. The maximum capacity is ~8 gallons.

8 Likes