Water pans rusted

Well just over 1yr and a rust hole in the pan the size of a silver dollar. Should have known this would happen.
Has anyone had any experience with primer/paint that will withstand the chemical and plasma on these type of tables?

Isn’t the pan stainless? How does it rust?

I doubt it is a hole from rust,probaly blew a hole in pan from torch? I have been using my XR for over two years now and almost 530 hours of cut time on table and no holes in water pan. I use plasma green additive in water.

1 Like

Painted mild steel water pan…

If your pan is mild steel, then you should probably use an anti-corrosive additive. I use Plasma Green 1050. My pan is stainless but I have zero rust on slats.

Rusting through a mild steel pan still seems unlikely under all but the worst case scenarios.

1 Like

I suppose you could be correct but this looks like rust to me. To the best of my knowledge I have never cut without fluid in this pan. I cut it out with a hole saw and will install drains. No one is familiar with some good paint to put on this? Not sure Rust oleum will hold up to the chemicals.

In my mind this is rust forming under the paint surface? Cheap Chinese SS??

The XR pans are painted mild steel, when cutting thicker material, you have longer pierce time that will create more heat transfer to one spot of pan eventually will cut away material of pan and if doing a lot of cutting in one certain area of table all the time will also eat away pan material. Do you use additive in water table.

1 Like

I would completely guess at this but I would suggest this machine to have less than 50hrs of run time in just over 1yr. Comments here are suggesting these pans are SS and I disagree. This is just bad paint jobs and crap materials. The though that I cut in one spot is no go and really nothing over .185 with occasional 1/2 material.
Yes I use the mix
1/4 pound of sodium nitrite powder (rust inhibitor)
1 teaspoon of Physan 20 (anti fungus)