Tool setter question for offset cutters

My machine is still a week out so i cant answer this for myself. Watching the videos they show how the toolsetter works and how to tell the machine where it is. My question is say i wanted to run a fly cutter or similar offset tool. Do you have togo through and changethe position in the computer evertime you want to use it or can you manually jog the offset needed to align the cutter withthe tool setter?

1 Like

Yes you can.

Thanks for answering my question

I’m not an expert yet but I think you will have to save the new location by pushing save button. Your next tool you will have to set the location again for regular end mills.
It works for me so far.

1 Like

Waiting on my machine here as well. I am a manual mill guy with no cnc experience. My newest machine (from about 1990) has a max RPM of about 2k and my tooling experiences over time are all for making chips slowly. 8k spindle speed seems amazing…

Anyway, my question is what kind of fly cutter(s) can be used? Large mass ones for a nice finish I wouldn’t think would be a good plan…

Anyway Can’t wait!

Reading back here maybe this should be on different thread - sorry

Kyle

My machine isn’t running yet but I ordered Langmuirs fly cutter and it fits in the palm of your hand, only ⅜" shank. You are limited to ½" shank diameter with the little er20 collets as far as I know

Actually, the LS fly cutter has a 1/2" shank, is adjustable from a ~2.2" diameter to ~3.5". LS recommends 1500 RPM at 10-20 IPM.

1 Like

I stand corrected haha. Looked like â…ś at a glance, my bad