THC Installation Step by Step

So I have seen several great threads about z axis and torch height control, but no step by step, or wiring diagrams. I’m currently in the process of installing a THC, but I’m stuck at how to wire it. I believe I have a diagram that possibly works, but would love some confirmation. I built a second cabinet so that I do not have to modify the one that came with my crossfire. Any help with this wiring would be greatly appreciated. This is what I have come up with conceptually, but I have zero electronics experience.

10 Likes

If I had no other inputs this is how I would wire mine. Just need to check the proma input voltage from your plasma and make sure it wired correctly. You will also need a probe input to set initial height unless you plan on doing it manually. If doing it manually then I would add an arc ok input from the plasma.

Another thing to check is how the drivers are wired for signal voltage and make sure the z axis is wire the same.

Edit: looks like the proma has an arc ok. You wont need one from the plasma then.

You said if you had no other inputs. What do you mean? Can the 24v 4 relay module also be used as inputs? Or do you mean inputs like limit switches, probe, e-stop, etc… If so, how would you wire it differently? Thanks in advance!

Hello! I bought everything in your diagram. I received them all except the Proma Compact 150 HTC…

I found a guy on youtube that make it, but he use the Proma SD. So I ask him why, and he sais he was not able to make it work…

So, i’m not sure i will keep the Standard Proma, maybe i will switch it for the SD.

1 Like

Once the proma is installed to the inputs, you have to define what they do inside of mach 3, did you do that? You also have to enable THC as well. Skip the video to 5:13 for the software portion, the beginning is just him wiring the proma to the plasma cutter.

1 Like