Settings to cut 3/4 metal

Hi I’m new to everything and purchased a crossfire XR in December we’ve been cutting pieces out in thin metal but when it comes to 3/4 inch plates can’t get it to pierce. If anyone has any recommendations on the settings to set the torch at it would be really helpful thanks. We’re using the hypertherm 85 plasma cutter

Here is the cut chart for nonSYNC:

But some things to think about:

1. Use new consumables. Your nozzle is already probably destroyed if you made a first attempt that did not go well. The additional spray back at the nozzle will widen the orifice and from then on, the stream will not be concentrated enough to cut well for that thick of plate.
  2. You have not really tested your settings perhaps as the thinner metal surrender more easily. What is really important is that you are at the right height for the cut. You might want to do a test cut and interrupt the cut to measure the distance to the plate. And notice that your pierce height should be 4X the cut height so you should be starting at around 0.25 inches.
  3. Use the nominal voltage instead of relying on the THC readings. (Ask if you don’t know how to set this).
  4. You should not have any springback set in the CAM. Are you using Fusion 360 or SheetCAM?

Full Cut Sheet settings:
Powermax65-85CutSheet.pdf (537.3 KB)

This is for SYNC:
Powermax 65 85 105 Sync Cut Charts.pdf (2.2 MB)

5 Likes

I never had any luck with 3/4 A36 steel. The only way I could cut it was to pre-drill a small hole or edge start. Once it pierces it cuts fine. It’s an excellent way to destroy your torch. That’s just my experience. 5/8 no problem. 3/4 is a tough nut to crack. I use an Everlast 82i. The Hypertherm 85 is a much more powerful machine. I guess it could work.

3 Likes

@Elsierdguez1 welcome to The forum

I’ve cut a little bit of three quarter inch with my Hypertherm PowerMax 85 and I use the book settings.

Here’s the results of that cut.

These were all pierced starts.