Razorweld 45 with Machine Torch stopped firing

Hi all I am somewhat new to plasma stuff,

I decided to buy the Razorweld 45 with the CF Pro as my first plasma cutter, and upgrade if I need to, (maybe after I pay off Affirm). I just got the table, had it set up and worked just fine for a few days, (pretty excited too!!!) but trying to get better results with thin stuff.

Now it wont fire.

I tried raising the water level to within a hair over 3/4" from the slats as I read a post that this and running faster than the google sheet helps reduce dross with 1/16. I saw the machine start to fail to make complete cuts. I turned the machine off. I did check the consumables, it looked ok, maybe a little dirty/sooty?, so I brass-brushed them clean and put it back together. Now, it won’t even fire.

Another thing, When searching the forums for how to troubleshoot this I just learned of the 4t and 2t toggle on the cutter. I had been running in 4t (even had a few misfires where the torch kept firing and I had to flip the machine off). Anyway, I cannot dry-fire in either 4t or 2t, but I do hear a click, and air blows. I tried turning everything off and on a few times and the THC test as well as manually firing it.

The forums have been a huge help in getting going, (my welder voltage split was backwards from instructions), but I feel stuck now. What should I try?

If air pressure is too low at torch it won’t fire, no matter what brand. Make sure you reassembled torch correctly.

2 Likes

Oh thanks. I will check, there might be something to that. I had been feeding it in at 100psi but dropped it to 80 (at the compressor) as part of my change Saturday so that I wouldn’t hear the compressor turning on as often.

You wont see much change in changing your pressure on the compressor on how much it runs.
It will always have to run enough to supply the cutter with what it needs.
Do you know HP or CFM out put of your compressor?