Multiple arc issue (SOLVED)

I’m very new to fusion, I’m trying to design this part and make a flat pattern.
However because of the multiple arcs on the same body, i get numerous errors or it only flattens half of the body.
Can anyone help?
im specifically talking about body “curved top”
thank you in advance.

tail brackets notched v0.f3d (266.3 KB)

I don’t have Fusion handy right now, but the clues will be in those three little yellowed icons near the beginning of your timeline. Right click on them for more info.

I’m sure someone who has fusion handy will be along soon…

Well, I’ve tried a ton of different sketches, bodies. Made changes to the original bodies, deleted bodies etc, so the time line is probably messed up.
I saw a video where the user made a flat pattern out of a cone (lampshade) he explained that in order for it to project a flat pattern it must have a flat surface so he put a flange on the end. Perhaps that’s worth a shot?

If someone doesn’t get back to you sooner, I’ll take a look at it sometime tomorrow. @TinWhisperer is the Fusion expert around here.

By the way, Welcome to the forum.

1 Like

Thanks pal. I’m not in a massive rush, I’m just trying to learn the correct workaround or what I’ve done wrong to prevent future delay.

Here is a copy with the curved sheet metal component working.

tail brackets notched tin curved fix v2.f3d (266.9 KB)

I’ll try to put together a visual walkthrough soon but for now

Created Sketch11 with arch and line tools on front face

Design>SheetMetal>Flange tool select lines of Sketch11

Pull out Flange to 3"

Now select newly create Sheet Metal Body with “Create Flat Pattern”

2 Likes

Ahha! Thank you so much!
So it was the sweep that was confusing things?
I’ll see if I can’t follow your directions and find out how you’ve done this.

You are welcome and Welcome to the forum.

I think so. the body that sweep creates does not translate well when converted to a sheet metal body.