Is THC worth the cost on the 2x2 extended tables?

Been doing some research and have an extended crossfire table on order that I plan to pair with an Everlast 62i CNC. I’m debating on footing the extra cash for THC on this table and was hoping I could get some opinions on this?

I’m a hobbyist and plan on cutting mostly thinner material for signs and yard art but will occasionally cut up to 1/2" for larger projects. I’ve read that THC does increase consumable life but haven’t ready many threads that say it’s a must have item (at least this is what my searches have turned up).

My table hasn’t shipped yet so I’d like to make the decision before that happens so any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum!

See:

1 Like

Thanks for that TomWS, didn’t find that thread in my search. I was concerned that the weight of the THC unit (motor and mechanicals) would be too much for the cantilevered arm.

If your table comes with the ihs or the z axis motor there is no extra weight. The THC Is a small box intended to mount on the side of your plasma.

There is a few that has great success without the THC . I personally am glad I bought it. It is a must for me even cutting 1/4. I nest out parts on 1/4 so close there isn’t much of a skeleton left. It will warp and bow pretty bad.

I would recommend it but it is a must to address electrical interference at the start of you will end up bald.

1 Like

Thanks Phillipw, I’m leaning towards adding it to my order. I’ve built a few 3D printers so I understand the value of having an accurate Z-height. Just wasn’t sure how critical it was for 2D plasma cutting.

1 Like

Warping will definitely exceed total cut height

2 Likes

Do some research some have made a support for the other end of the gantry.

A support for the other end of the gantry would be a welcome addition. I’ll look in to that, thanks.