Highest Quality Cutter for fine cuts on thin gauge sheetmetal?

Hi,
I just received my XR, which is still in the box. I didn’t order a plasma cutter yet. Budget is not really an issue, and I have 50A 240V outlet. I’m thinking of either the Hypertherm XP 45 or the new 65 or 85 SYNC models. I think the idea of the self contained consumable is cool. Anyone use these?
One question I have is does a 45XP actually cut thin gauge/fine cuts better than a 65 or 85? I like the Idea of having a more powerful machine as I tend to go for overkill (hence getting an XR for my first cmc plasma).

If im not asking the correct questions I’d appreciate any input.
Paul

Hello pjf1969,

I have a hypertherm powermax85 and I love it. I am just getting started in this space of manufacturing. AKA it’s new to me i’ve got collectively about 6 months of time on the machine.

I am ordering all the bits an pieces of the fine cut consumables for cutting intricate signage on metal less the 10g. With the standard tip it’s kerf at .06is blowing holes in the design and not really what I would call quality. I am hopeful that the .03 of the fine cut will be what I am able to make work. Otherwise scale back the details a bit and see how that goes. I will post some output next week.

Here’s the consumables i am running with out the OHMIC Ring.

I also own a PowerMax 85 it is a great machine.

The manual for the PowerMax 85 does include a estimated kerf width chart.
I don’t think you’ll be achieving .03 kerf width unless you’re cutting less than 20 gauge super fast at low amps. Stainless steel also ends up being a smaller kerf width when cut.
I do most of my signs out of 14 gauge where the .003 kerf width savings by going to fine cuts just doesn’t make any sense to me I would rather be cutting at an extra 50 or 70 in per minute faster by using standard 45 amp consumables unshielded and take the penalty.

1 Like

Ha!,

Was going to ask ya just that question. How are you cutting?