Fusion or ? Software

I am new to Cad/Cam and have been learning Fusion 360. Nice program but it is far from intuitive. I am not going to be a professional using the Pro table every day. I may be using it every couple of weeks to a month. I know that it is going to be a challenge to use Fusion as a part-time user. Any suggestions on an easier way to go with CAD/CAM software? I am designing car part fabrication stuff for personal projects.

This is a VERY loaded question, and there will be a lot of people with a lot of opinions. Here is my two cents:

I come from a long career of cnc machining using mills and routers. My background has always been Solidworks. It was natural for me to switch to Fusion when I started my business. The learning curve for me was short, but yes…it’s an odd software in some ways. SInce that is my background, I use fusion.
Some will suggest Sheetcam for the Cam portion. It’s cheap, specific and works great and can recommend it. I don’t like it though. I’m used to the Fusion environment, and the idea of working everything within one piece of software.
Other options for the CAD side range from basic Autocad style 2d drawing…since that’s all you really need for plasma, to Sketchup. I’ve always been one to say this: decide what YOU, YOU, want to get from the software, then watch a few hours of youtube videos on various options to see which match your needs. Then, go play. Everyone has their own style of work, their own workflow. That’s when recommendations go out the window.
Now…if ya need help with very objective things like how to use the machine itself…this community is full of absolute invaluable knowledge. Lot of helpful folks here.

3 Likes