Fog Buster vs Flood Coolant

It sounds like some people have installed a fog buster type system onto their machine.

Given the issues with drainage, I am also considering this (I’m getting a fully assembled unit, so I cannot put a shower drain into the table).

For those who have done so, how has it been working, and were there any modifications you had to do to the electronics to have coolant turn on and off automatically?

Thanks.

It works well for me. I have a homemade system that is basically a copy of the Fogbuster.

I was motivated to go this way because of prior experiences in trying to keep flood coolant “fresh” on a system that I might not use for a month or more at a time. I’m a hobbyist and not a pro and my CNC machine use tends to be seasonal.

I have the same coolant switch as the flood system (you can easily find them) and have it powering a pneumatic solenoid that turns on and off the compressed air.

what size air compressor do you have? i have a 30 gal oilless and it ran constantly with my old setup.

I have a 3 gallon Makita “quiet series” air compressor rated at 3.5scfm. It runs at about 30% duty cycle when machining. My air nozzle is 1/8" brass tubing (so about 2mm or .090 ID) and I run at about 80psi. This makes a narrow but strong stream of air which is aimed directly at the cutter to clear chips.

I looked through my phone videos and found one where you can see it in action. Sorry about the reflections.

I’ve since increased the length of the nozzle (to make a narrower cone of air), but it works about the same. MQL is 95% chip clearing and 5% keeping a little lube on the cutter.

2 Likes

Amazing thanks! I will also be using it for prototyping and such, so similarly don’t expect to be running it all the time. I’ve seen some videos of the flood coolant and the machine ends up looking like a swimming pool haha…