First Test Cuts to define cutting parameters

Hello,

I ran a few test cuts on my machine for the first time to define the best cutting parameters to use going forward. I uploaded some pictures for review and input on my results. Since this is my first time using a plasma table I’m not sure if my results are normal or if I can tweak my settings for better results.

I’m using a Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 40 with a 30 amp tip. Inlet air pressure for the machine is rated at 90 - 125 psi. I have it set at 100 psi. Cutting standoff range is 1/8" - 3/8". Output current is set at 30 amps.
Material thickness is 16 gauge. Pierce height = .5", Plunge rate = 100 ipm, Cut height = .25", Pause at end of cut = .3 s.
I have the powered Z - Axis installed on the machine with THC working properly.

This is a two inch square with different size circles from 1/8" to 1/2". I performed three tests with feed rates of 100 ipm, 125 ipm, & 150 ipm respectively with reference from left to right on the pictures. All of the cuts regardless of feed rate produced bevels where the bottom of the cuts were slightly smaller in diameter than the top. Dross formation on the bottom of the plates seems to be about the same regardless of feed rate although from my perspective it looks like maybe there was less of it at 100 ipm. NOTE: I did run one test at 150 ipm @ 35 amps for comparison but the results were about the same with the exception of cutting down deeper onto the slats.

Suggestions on tweaking my parameters for better results would be appreciated!

Hey congrats on your first cuts even though they may not be perfect! You’re on your way!!

I’m thinking your pierce height and cut height are too high. I set my pierce height at .15" and my cut height at .06 for 16 gauge. Because your torch flame is well… flame shaped it does have a natural taper to it so if the torch is too high you’ll see more bevel on cuts.