Design Measurements Change when Preparing to Cut

I am a high school teacher, and one of my senior students is having an issue when using Fusion 360 and FireControl with the CrossFire Pro. He has several different design files that are all sections of a continuous sign. They are all supposed to be the same height, as he designed them on Fusion 360. However, when he loads it into FireControl, the heights change up to 1/4". For example, 14.00" changes to 14.25" for one section, and it changes to 14.05" for another section. They can be a little different than the original height, but they all need to be the same as each other so they line up. Any ideas on why this is happening or how to fix the problem? Thanks.

Welcome to The Forum.

So when you cut these parts they’re out of dimension by this much?

Or are you saying the total outside dimensions and fire control are showing larger than the dimensions in Fusion?

The dimensions showing in the bottom corner of the visualizer and fire control may not act accurately represent what they finished dimensions would be. The total dimensions may add a couple other factors in like where your stock box point origin is located and how the setup enveloped the model. Another factor would be your kerf width would likely be added to the outside dimensions

If you’re uncertain I would cut a few 2x2 test squares and check the dimensions before cutting any larger projects.

Once you’re able posting an f3d file would be a good thing too then we can look into your Fusion file

4 Likes

Yes, as Tin said: “Welcome to the forum.”

One thing I have heard is that the decimal point is very important. If the dimension, in Fusion, is actually put in to the hundredths place, as your example states ‘14.00’, then it should be solid and remain.