Corel Draw to Fusion 360

So I’ve read through some posts here about using Corel for design and and fusion for the cam. Again I’m brand new to this and struggling. I am okay with corel, I used to be a screen printer and I can work pretty quickly in the program. I am a knife maker now so I’ve been creating my knives in Corel for about a year. Here is a list of problems I’m having and I was hoping you guys could point me toward some videos or just tell me how these things are done because I feel like I’m chasing my tail.
When I import from Corel as a Cad file DFX or DWG, the drawings come up with the proper dimensions but when I go to start creating tool paths the holes become disfigured and I have to click every single line segment on the profile and then flip the cu to the outside. When I design in fusion, I only have to click the outside edge and it comes up as a single path.
If I import as an SVG the dimensions are huge.
Also if I have a couple dozen knives on a page going through and clicking every single line segment will take hours! It seems like there should be an easier way to do this.
Is it easier to just trace the image in fusion?
HELP!

if you are using a desing program you are comfortable with…then I would suggest instead of going to conFusion360 you look at Sheetcam…
Sheetcam takes your drawing DFX and can easily convert it to gcode…

Yes sheetcam is a onetime purchase of of around $140…but you might find it a lot easier to use than fusion…

4 Likes

Could you post your DFX. and or the SVG.

I will be able to show you a simple and effective way to process that through Fusion 360.

Extrude your sketch to a body to vastly simplify the process

these x12 knives took under 4 minutes to import, extrude, multiply, arrange, setup, toolpath then g code .

done

lf forums lots of knives v1.f3d (670.7 KB)
knives x12.nc (50.2 KB)

this is a knife I download from fireshare
https://www.langmuirsystems.com/fireshare/hunting-knife

2 Likes