Clear coat / Sealant?

Hi, I have been priming and painting my signs with rustoleum primer as well as the 2x stuff, and behr paint from home depot. What do you guys use for clear coating? A flat / matte coat if possible, not a fan of gloss. What’s the best for outside placement?

Thanks - Wade.

skipping paint all together and powdered coating is a far better for exterior duty.

When I use clear coat over patina I use beautitone stain clear.

2 Likes

Oil based Urethanes all have a yellowish effect and the only urethane that is recommended for outside usually has the term “spar” included with it. The spar, I was told, means that the coating is more likely to expand and contract with the heat and cold and resist cracking.

I have no experience with this product, but I know of people that routinely do painted rocks and then coat with this Krylon coating. It is available in gloss, satin and flat. They claim good results.

This is my favorite line of spray paints in a can but have not used this clear coating. I would probably give this a try:

1 Like

I use rustoleum paint and the few times I tried using clear it wrinkles the paint. Be careful is my suggestion. I have signs on my pole barn I painted over a year ago and they look perfect still. The really nice thing about powder coating is you can touch it after it comes out of the oven. Paint takes a day

3 Likes

The clear wrinkles your paint because you have to let the color paint fully cure. I know it is weird…

As wet paint goes my go to was high temp auto paint. A little pricey but worth it.

Most paints will specify if a clear is need. For the o.p.

2 Likes

I dont clear anything unless it requires it. As far as paint, I have had great luck with Rustoleum, even outdoors. Nothing I am painting is nice enough to use primer.
I typically only paint things that I cant P/C.
Worst thing about Rustoleum is the very long dry times and overspray

2 Likes