Brand new; have many questions starting with Fusion 360

Hello everyone. I am an older (71) retired engineer and life long amateur mechanic. I’ve just set up my Crossfire table (extended with water table and Z axis) and I am TRYING to work through the Fusion 360 tutorials to make my first cut.

I am getting hung up on the differences between the version of Fusion shown in the tutorials and the one I just downloaded. FOR EXAMPLE: I want to radius the corners of the bottle opener Langmuir uses as a teaching example and I CANNOT find the right tool.
I have NO previous experience with CAD so I am pretty much a child just playing with blocks. I’m sure that adds to my inability to make this work.

Is there EITHER another tutorial set for Fusion that’s more up to date so that I can DO as I SEE? Or another, maybe more basic but useable, CAD tool to use with the Crossfire?

@oldsubsailor Welcome to the forum.

The interface interface for Fusion is being continually updated and some of those video were made some time ago.

Check out these videos on fusion’s sketch environment from Productdesignonlines page .

Also I created a small series that is plasma focused.

There is quite a learning curve to start with fusion but with time it can be great to use.

4 Likes

Old Sub I would grab Cletus’s test file off of fireshare to run your first cut.

https://www.langmuirsystems.com/fireshare/test-card

It’s known to work and will give you a way to dial in your settings. If you really want to start with your own file I would make it really simple like a circle, square or triangle. Keep it simple and progress slowly with both fusion and the table. The files on fireshare are also wildcards some are good and some, not so good. This table can be a lot of fun but also very frustrating if you try to move too fast with either the software or complexity of the cuts. This forum will be a lot of help if you ask.

2 Likes

Is this what you wish to do ?

Fillets are done in SKETCH MODE