Basic questions and intro

Hi all. I’m looking to get the entry level crossfire then add the $150 extension , homing switch (even though I have no clue what it does) and the water table. Im totally new to cnc plasma tables. But I’ve been eying this up for years. Tonight it’s back in the cart lol.

My plans :
Im probably going to be making off-road parts and brackets garage tools etc. the plasma cutter I currently got is cheap trash. Im not trying to go all out on the setup I’m not sure how much I will use it.

New Plasma cutters:
Ive been going back and forth on the cheaper ones that come of the list here. Again not trying to spend a lot. That left me with the prime Cut60, titanium and everlast.
The Cut 60 i heard some good things about. I can add on a $300 machine cnc torch. It’s important I can still use this plasma cutter not attached to the cnc machine. Is the $300 torch add on required when using on the basic crossfire table? Will any torch mount to the crossfire table out the box?

Some of you that use the lower end plasma cutters any issues? Pick one over the other? I don’t want to spend more than 1k on plasma cutter.

I downloaded fusion 360 home version. The learning curve is a bit steep but couple weeks to practice I should be good. But if there is software that’s better than other or any input anyone willing to give would be appreciated. Maybe explain that $95 homing switch would help too. Thanks.

1 Like

My suggestion would be to get the Cut 60 and just use the hand torch. It will mount to the table. You can always get a machine torch later, if you feel like you need it

Save your money and don’t bother with the limit switch kit. It’s not needed and has been the cause of a lot of confusion for new users.

I’ve been running my pro table for several years with no limit switches and have never felt the need to have them.

4 Likes

Thanks for the info. I appreciate it.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!