X Axis Carriage Binding on Gantry

Good day folks.

Finally getting around to assembling my Pro table. Going pretty well when I pay attention to all the details in the instructions. I’m all the way up to Z axis tramming (step 8) when I ran into an issue. I was able to tram the carriage perpendicular to the table slats. The issue arose when I tried to take up the slack in the lower bearings. If I take up the lash at the center of the gantry I still have more than .015 gap (used a feeler guage) when the push the carriage to the far right and left. I put a framing level on the gantry and it is bowed down a good .020 in the middle which in itself shouldn’t be an issue since I have THC but the tube is out of whack enough dimensionally that it leaves me with huge torch deflection at two points in the table. The top of the Z motor will move almost a 1/10th of a inch. I can’t imagine that is going to work right. Thoughts?

Mike

I just recently completed assembling my Pro table. I am new to plasma cutting. While assembling the table I felt the parts were not as square or flat as what I am use to seeing with a solid CNC mill. I could not imagine carriages moving smoothing. I figured they would bind and lose precision. I recommend you continue with assembly and push toward making test cuts that prove or disprove out-of-square or out-of-flat causes an issue. My table (with the few cuts I’ve made) has done well. I heard someone cut a license plate with embossed letters and did not have an issue. I am thinking just continue assembling.
One note: I left the screws on the stanchion plate a little more than finger tight until the carriages moved under power. Once under power, I verified the carriages did not bind up during full travel. Then I tightened a little. Verified full travel without binding and repeated.

1 Like