Why is my torch dropping down and dragging the metal on straight cuts

NEED HELP!! I have been using my new XR and Razorweld 45 for 2 months now with no issues. Here lately it has been acting up. Just performing a straight cut using the generated setting in fire control, causes my torch to hit the metal and drag. I also tried a design I had cut in past with no issues and all of sudden wont cut it with out dragging the torch. As a result one of my brackets (X-axis) is now bent.

Is this a software problem that anyone else has seen?

Doesn’t sound like a software issue. It’s more likely to be an issue with the IHS switch or THC voltage, depending on if it starts by dragging on the metal or lowers during the cut.

If it starts out by dragging, it’s probably something triggering or closing the IHS switch at the wrong time.

If it lowers during the cut, it is probably a voltage related issue. Are you using smart voltage or setting a nominal voltage?

2 Likes

Check to see if the tang on IHS switch is pushed into Z axis lead screw, if Tang is touching bend back away from the lead screw so not touching. If it is not, then clean Z axis screw and apply 3-1 oil or wd-40 to z axis screw and push torch up by hand and let go to see if it comes back down on own no binding.

3 Likes

Im using smart voltage. It doesn’t start out dragging, it lowers during the cut.

Watch the voltage display in Firecontrol. The behavior indicates that you should see it start out low, which is where the smart voltage is taking it’s sample. Then it will probably increase during the cut and the THC will drive the torch down to try to lower the voltage to match the sample.

If that’s what’s happening, you need to investigate the variable voltage readings.

2 Likes

Thanks for the help and a good place to start. Ill investigate it further. I had tried to also reach out to Cameron at Langmuir but he was out.

Thank you ill take a look at this as well.