Up near the islands in lake superior learning something new

hi, was recommended to post an intro here. icu nurse by trade but burnout is a thing and i do a LOT of other work on the side and try to keep the icu thing part time if possible. the side stuff is mostly marine related including salvage, boat rebuilds and repair and marine canvas fabrication which is how i got into metalworking (fabricating stainless tubing frames and rails which after while doesn’t seem that far from making roll cage stuff and other custom parts… and as i’m sure you all know people end up asking for unrelated metal fab/welding etc too once they figure out you have a welder and the stuff you fab isn’t dangerous or full of bird crap welds)

my reason for getting the pro is as much personal and hobbty related as it is thinking i’d take my side business/hobby in a slightly more automated/computerized direction (including getting a practical 3d scanner for patterning of all kinds of small to midsize objects) It just seemed like a logical step to get into cnc, 3d printing, etc. considering the large number of hours i have to put in on custom work and patterning by hand sometimes, plus for automotive and tractor repairs and general stuff of my own “wood is good, but steel is real”, and this cnc plasma seemed like one of the two basic tools that really can help make you other tools (the other being a metal lathe which is a future desire)

and finally way up here in the frozen tundra there isn’t as much you can do if you don’t do it yourself…so here i am.

anyway, glad to be here, definitely a big learning curve and time investment in figuring this all out but i’ve already been thankful for the advice of a few people here just in my first few posts.