Total Newbie looking for direction

Looking for direction. Total newb to CNC. Download Fusion 360 and started watching the tutorial videos. Not sure if I have the same version, if you’re not supposed to use chrome or what, but I got a bit frustrated trying to follow along. Any tips?
Table should be here in a few weeks and I’d like to be able to hit the ground running.

Honestly if you just ordered your machine it’s going to be a couple of months until you get it (ordered mine mid November, still don’t have it) which gives you plenty of time to learn your software you chose to use for designing, because you will need to learn alot while your waiting for it to come! The easy part is cutting your part out, the time consuming part is figuring out how to design your pieces or artwork and use the software properly. The program’s I use for design is fusion 360 (for basic design and tool path), and I use inkscape and Gimp for the majority of design and convert the svg or PDF to dxf using convertio. All of these programs are free to use.

Honestly what you should do is start designing things so you can just cut them out when you get your machine. Learn how to use inkscape or Gimp so well you can design things without having to look at tutorials. You will also need to go over the CAM tutorial from the langmuir systems videos. Once you understand and memorized what the different tools are for in these programs it will make it so much easier to making things. Setting up the sheet metal or plate and getting the plasma cutter and air compressor working and actually cutting the work piece out is simple.

2 Likes