Torchmate cad software

Any converts on here from Torchmate? (Gamble)
I ordered the Pro table and would like to know if I can use the Torchmate cad for my drawing and toolpathing. I have been using this cad for 8 years and have hundreds of files I currently use and don’t really want to learn a new program. I think learning the Mach 3 driver software will already test my patience.
Thanks Mike

Mach 3 is easy. Move torch, zero xyx, cycle start. Easiest software on a cnc machine I’ve ever seen

1 Like

Thanks for that bit of encouraging news. I figured Mach 3 would be a requirement to drive the machine. I just don’t want to modify my Torchmate files to work on the Pro. I’ll have to keep my old Torchmate warhorse up and running untill I get up to speed with the Pro and AVHC for the first time.

What are the torchmate files like?

As drawn and saved in Torchmate cad they are CDL files.
As toolpath cut files they are FGC files.

Is the toolpath file a text file of gcode?

Corel draw used cdl files too I believe

Yes the G code is the text file as I understand it. I don’t really understand all the different file extensions used. I just know it works within the Torchmate cad system then downloaded to the Torchmate cutting system in G code. I know I can import DXF files into cad and use them and even vinyl cutter files. Sometimes there is problems with sizing and broken lines importing odd cad files but you can generally make them work with some effort. I just need to be able to use my existing Torchmate Cad files with the Pro when I get it. I’m sure there will be a work around. I was just hoping there might be a Torchmate convert on here that had broken the ground with it. Actually I should just download Fusion and Mach 3 and start trying to integrate it before the machine ships.
Thanks, Mike

Send me an fgc file, I’ll see if I can get it to load in mach3, change the fgc extension to dxf

Preferably something a little complex

Not sure how to send you a file.