Toolpath selection, not sure where to begin

Hesitant to post this because I know that it has been covered many times, but I am new to this and searching for the exact thing I am looking for usually yields a result just a little bit different than what I need. So I apologize for my ignorance on this subject.

Frist question-I see that many people suggest Sketch Checker…I dont even know if it would help me, but doesnt appear it is available as an app/add-on from Autodesk. Can anyone confirm?

Secondly-Searched previous posts and worked thorugh closing all segments…I think. So hopefully that is not an issue.

Third-This file started out as a jpeg and converted…so I dont know if thats an issue.

Fourth-I seem to be grasping toolpath selections for things that I create, but other file types that are imported/converted, mainly pictures, are really difficult to deal with…is this normal.

Here is the file I am dealing with. I understand that some points are going to drop out when cut, so I may do multiple layers, but my main issue is just selecting a toolpath, I am not sure where to start.

Big Brawler Beards.f3d (630.4 KB)

Here you go.

3 Likes

@Cyoung Let see what you have going on here,
I ll live stream soon.

7am pst ish.

In the video I find a arch terminating at a acute angle at the intersection of the i dot and body that was causing the issue about the (13min mark) by using the divide the conquer method. I repaired the issue then go on to develop the CAM.

Attached is a modded f3d file

Big Brawler Beards tin mod.f3d (2.3 MB)

4 Likes

You actually are not too bad with contours but you have infinite loops: Sort of like a circle within a circle within a circle. Tin will show you.