Summary of process please

New to CNC, but I’ve been doing computer networking for 25 years. Did master Chief Architect building software and built a home.
Now for CNC, hopefully…:disappointed_relieved:
Question is can anyone supply a summary of the process, not in depth, more 1000 foot level
Like, buy camera, choose lens, Choose filter, choose light, etc.
I see there are various software apps involved in setting up the finale file to send to table, but don’t understand the what comes first, second,etc
Thanks for any info.

Well! First purchase your table and Plasma Cutter! I have the CrossFire Pro and the RazorCut45. I bought both through Langmuir, package deal. You will have time to decide which software to choose. You are correct, there are several CAD programs to choose from. Some are free and some will cost. The CAM programs are the same. You can download Fusion360 for free. It has CAD/CAM capabilities. I started with as ToolBoy would say “Confusion360”. It isn’t that hard, just watch the Videos’ on the Langmuir Home Site under support. Any program you choose will have Videos’ to watch and learn. You can start learning the Program you choose before the Machine arrives. Others will help you along the way.

1 Like

Choose your design application - anything that can produce SVG (or DXF) files. If you want to do 3D creations good choices are Freecad (free), SolidEdge (free) or Fusion360 (possibly free but not if you sell your creations). If you want to do signs and artwork and such you can use the above or Inkscape (free), Affinity Designer ($50), CorelDraw (?) or Adobe Illustrator. Folks here and YouTube are your friends for learning how to use those programs.