Small personal one

My table is a tool; I use it to efficiently and effectively make parts whether they’re one-off or in multiple batches.

Made something for myself for once.

I want to preface by saying, it’ll be another year or so until I build my own simulator cockpit in our guest bedroom so I needed something to place my new flight stick and throttle on.

Had just ordered these -

Since my gaming PC is in our master bedroom on a rather small desk, it’s difficult being able to utilize my stick and throttle and be comfortable at the same time so I started drawing something up -

The idea was just to cut legs out, bolt them together with hardware that contrasts with the legs, and add a ‘classic’ look to it with some wood on top.

Getting to work on those legs, best part is I got these three 4’ x 1.5’ sheets of steel for free -

Used the second one as part of a side job, not to mention cutting the feet out with as well.

I don’t like doing signs so you’ll rarely see my scrap with sign cut outs -

Mocking things up, and just confirming the inside width matches with CAD.

Here you’ll see the initial rear foot I was going to use, as well as aluminum rod I ordered on Amazon -

With the new wider rear foot cut as well as the aluminum rod, I bolted it up and got ready for welding -

Let it sit for awhile to cool, then took it outside for some pics -

Being a personal project, it was all about keeping this as cheap and effortless as possible so I just put a coat of some rustoleum rust inhibitor -

Forum member hooked me up with some nice walnut -

Just mocking up for size -

Chopped off a nice chunk, this is some nice wood -

Put a radius on each corner -

And picked this up at Home Depot, really love the way it came out -

After she sat for a good 24 hours, I was happy with the end result so I through it all together -