Sheetcam Error in G Code? Hypertherm xp45

Guys what am I doing wrong in sheetcam? It is my first time using it. I am cutting with a Hypertherm 45xp. My consumables are new and installed securly. I have 90 PSI at the machine. Dry air coming form an 80 gallon compressor that is rated at 14CFM @ 90PSI. Ground is clamped directly to work piece.

Could this be my torch height control? I cut another smaller piece right before this one just fine.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

pug address sign for Bri - 7-10-20.tap (18.2 KB)

Looks like pierce delay, torch actually firing a fraction of a second after the relay closes and torch moves too soon. Double Pierce delay and you’ll be fine.

Maybe your smaller piece had a different or longer lead in or only one pierce? I didn’t notice my pierce delay issue on my first few test cuts because they were just solid objects.

1 Like

It is my pierce delay. I watched a video I made of me cutting that peice and u are spot on. I will try a little more on the delay.

I think my smaller peice had a .2 and the one I am having issues with in pic was .1.

Do u think I should apply rules in sheetcam to slow it down on the tight corners?

I’ve been cutting all 16g mild steel so far at 30 amps and 215-230 IPM. I have experimented with the holes and corners rules on inside contours. I wouldn’t apply them for the outer paths. I’m not sure I’ve seen a difference yet.

I have been using loop sharp corners though.

The only tight corners on that are your numbers and they look fine aside from the pierce issue.

1 Like

So I got it working pretty good. Factory recommendations were followed except I changed cut speed to 230IPM, 35 amps, .4 second pierce delay. Attached are pictures of results with these settings. I might try doing 30 amps like you initially recommended and see if it improves. I still have some minor flaws I can probably improve. Picture with failed cuts is using .2 second delay at 230 IPM 35 amps. . image image image image image image