Powdercoating question

So I just got the powders in and coated a couple of pieces. This is my very first time doing this but I am extremely impressed so far.

Here’s the question - one of my pieces didn’t get powdered on the other side as well as my other pieces. Can I re-apply powder and cure it again?

image image

yes, they say to scuff the piece with a pad. I have done it without this step and It worked fine.

1 Like

Thanks brother. I’ll try and clean it up tomorrow.

You can also warm the part before respraying.

BTW, if you put a rotating hook in your booth & hang the parts from that it makes it easier to get full consistent coverage. I also have a similar hook in the ceiling of my oven so I don’t have to jostle things more than absolutely necessary.

Thanks Jim. I have a hook that I attached a rotating hook to.

I don’t know why my pictures are rotating.

You should really strip the piece and re shoot it if you have already fully baked the part. Powders have a set time and temp that they should be baked out. Typically powder manufacturers do give you some leeway but by baking a color multiple times, it can cause defects such as delamination. I can’t tell you how many pieces I have chemical stripped, outgassed, re sand blasted just because of improper adhesion

Also if you are doing multiple coats such as a color then a clear top, don’t fully cure the base coat. I typically shoot the color, once it gets to 300°, I remove the part, let it cool to about 175*, shoot the top coat, then bake at what ever temp and time the top coat calls for. Only time you fully cure the base coat, is if your shooting a chrome base

1 Like

What chemical do you use to strip metal of the powder? This piece is so small I’ll probably just die grind it.

Also, don’t I fully cure everything that is just going to be a single color? Chrome would be cured fully if another color is added?

I haven’t gotten this technical yet and thanks for the help.