Not completing cut outs

hello,

I just got my crossfire up and going and made my first some what successful cut. the issue I’m running into is that it isn’t fully cutting out “closed chains”. the plasma cutter seems to cut fine on most of the cuts. I think it might be a setting I have wrong.
Some info -
cnc - crossfire (non pro)
Plasma - Chicago electric 45a set @ 30a 4.5cfm
compressors - x2 kobalt 4.3 cfm 8 gal ( I plan to upgrade just need to make a few bucks first)

nozzle size

I am new to using AutoCAD and plasma cncs. I have used a laser engraver and gimp to make images.

thank you in advice for any advice,
Ned

forgot to mention,

material is steel sheet metal I salvaged off the back of an old stove.

Pierce delay is set for 2.5 sec. Should be around .5 to .7 sec. Do you have the work clamp on the metal you’re cutting?

4 Likes

I have the clamp on the table slats. That was what it had in the plasmas manual, but I can change it and give that a try.

Made you a quick video and tried to explain a few things. Still waking up and drinking coffee. GL and keep posting those cool projects

2 Likes

Thank you both, I’ll change that setting and setup the tool path that way.

I know you have what you have and understand. Your Compressor is tiny. The changes the guys recommended doesn’t help. Check you air pressure could be dropping. Another thing to keep in mind a small compressor will make a lot of hot air that will destroy your consumables fast also.

7 Likes

@Nedlyest Welcome to the forum.

1 Like