No Cut Chart; Knowing Which Variables to Tweak

I have a Lotos LTP5500D on my Pro that I’ve been pretty happy with. I recently bought a machine torch that is pinned to work with my cutter but uses Razorcut X45/Hypertherm consumables- See link at bottom

So now I find myself in a position where I need to make my own cut charts. Not really sure if I should reference the chart for my current cutter or for the X45- or if it even matters. I’ll be dialing in recipes for the fine cut consumables as well as the 35A & 70A tips.

I plan on using the method outlined in this thread here Test cut program to find the ideal cutting speed

I anticipate that this will give me a good subjective comparison that accounts for everything software side(feeds,delays, heights, etc…) but I don’t know how I’ll handle the amperage/PSI

Does anyone have any advice or resources for understanding which variables to tweak for subjectively getting your cut where you want it? Or any advice really- I’m quite new to this.

Set it to 45 amps and adjust speed as necessary. That’s basically how the hypertherm cut chart works with standard consumeables, kerf changes with speed of course.

Fine cuts are a little different. I run them on the low speed settings foe the .029 kerf on 16 gauge.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing your experience with it. Would I do the same with the 70A tip but with the amperage to match? What cut chart are you referring to? Powermax 45? I’m still unclear on what to set PSI to but I can look through the chart first.

Ah sorry I skimmed. I can only speak to the 44 amp stuff. The 45xp is internally regulated so I don’t know anything about the psi.

1 Like

I have a comprehensive cut list on the computer at work that I have tuned in real well for our hypertherm. I can grab that file tomorrow and upload it here. Granted its not the same cutter but being the same consumables I would imagine it will be a pretty good starting point.