Newb: sell me on this machine

I’m considering buying this machine. I will be using for hobby fab. Things like brackets, link tabs, suspension parts, furniture parts etc. probably in the range of 22g up to 1/4 occasional 3/8
I have a hypertherm 600 with upgraded torch.

I’m not that good with software/computers. would this setup be good for me?

It doesn’t cost any money to watch the how to videos put out my langmuir. If its not something your willing to put in the time or effort to learn the computer part its not worth it

I tell my CNC students, it’s not the machine you’re going to spend the most time with, it’s the design part.

Definitely try to get comfortable with a 2D design package like Inkscape or Corel. That’s the real tricky part. Then you have a couple of options on how to make the Crossfire cut your design out - Fusion 360 (free) or Sheetcam ($).

I know 80 grandmothers who couldn’t do any of this and now make their own jewelry and stuff for families & friends.

Check out Plasmaspider.com - join for $20, it’s a great place for plasma folks & designs.

Langmuir has made the barrier of entry for this work feasible for the hobbiest and light producer. However, if it were so simple everyone would be doing it. There is a learning curve. It took me about a month of reseach to get going and another month to get comfortable with the software - ( doing about 30 designs… or so. ) Then of course when you are done, You still probably have to finish those parts… ( again more work, learning and more tooling etc )

It definitely takes some work, watch videos, try it, watch videos, take a few notes, try it. It is a bit of a challenge but just knowing you can do CNC work when you learn it is a big deal for me. I am not very computer literate and I got my machine in April and I can whip out a part in just a few minutes now. The unlimited potential of what you can do is a really cool thing. Well worth the time and effort.
Good luck!