New guy looking for advice

Hello from Alaska. Would like to start getting more familiar with what ill need to run my new table. I ordered the CrossFire Pro table back in December and expect shipping news some time in the next few weeks. I have a 2015 Mac Book Pro and am thinking i may need to upgrade. I have very little Cad design experience so looking to go with alternative design programs that ive seen recommended for 2D design. No Fusion 360 for now. Want the ability to cut some bracket type pieces and art work type pieces with my son. Hes prob better with computer and designing than i am and hes 11!! Couple questions i have that i havent seen posted yet.
-Is there any major benefit to having touch screen. Saw one youtube post that the guy was using touch screen a bit with his table. I dont think the new macs have that so id have to go PC?
-If i go Mac again would I want to have a second computer to leave hooked up to the table and use a thumbdrive (or something like) to transfer over designs to cut?

• If Mac can i expect to move to Fusion 360 at a later date without any issues.
  • Would a new Mac have all the right stuff to run Sheetcam, Qcad, Inkspace etc.

Thanks for the help and any other recommendations in regards to computer etc is very much appreciated.

Hi, I’m not a Mac person at all. That said, I have a dedicated PC (repurposed Dell Optiplex) as a shopfloor PC with a nice fairly large monitor and a mouse for running the Plasma Table and also my CNC Laser. All my CAD work is done in my office on a CF31 Toughbook.
Refurbished laptops (including Toughbooks) make fine controllers for a CNC Plasma table and can be inexpensive, some Toughbooks do have a touch screen. My machines are running Windows 10 and they are networked so I don’t have to physically transfer a cad file from office to shopfloor.