My Fusion 360 expires next week thinking about sheet cam

So my Fusion 360 subscription $400 a year expires next week and I really do not feel like paying for it again because personally I think the software is very laggy and hard to work with but I do like its features I am thinking about going to sheet cam for my post processor and using inkscape as my design software I have a full subscription of Mach 3 as well.
I design Jeep accessories, light mounts, etc.
Would I be able to design this kind of stuff in Inkscape.
Would I be able to use my Fusion 360 drawings in Inkscape because I definitely want to download them and get them out of the fusion cloudā€¦
I also make signs etc, but Jeep stuff is my bread and butter.
Help me out with some input pleaseā€¦

Look into Freecad, there are all kinds of workbenches and it will open or import practically any format. Youā€™ll have a new learning curve, but there are a bunch of youtube tutorials.

2 Likes

I was in the same boat with Fusion 360 and switched to Solid Edge 2021 (Itā€™s Free) and it has a low learning curve. I use Sheetcam after design and happy with both .

2 Likes

I agree. I like Solid Edge, it is very powerful. I have the 2020 Student Version which is ok for me (you canā€™t open the design files with the Commercial version) and is free. The standard commercial version is a ā€˜pay forā€™ and I donā€™t know what the current price it. For Plasma Cutting, even the Solid Edge 2D version is pretty good and IS free.

Having said that, Iā€™m investing my time in FreeCad because it will ALWAYS be free. I canā€™t be sure of that of any software that comes from a commercial establishment.

2 Likes

As the others have mentioned, Free cad or Solid edge. Iā€™m lucky that I have a full license for solid works that I design all my machines on, do simulation etc and produce the dxf files (I use my table in a commercial environment, I design and build machines for the oil and gas sector)