Looking to purchase the xr

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time. I have plenty of experience running a multifuel table that was 12’ x78’ in an industrial mining/construction shop so while familiar with the process and function along with CAD. I am not familiar with the smaller tables (They seem fragile). I am researching the XR and the premier plasma 5 x 10. Either one will be paired with a Hypertherm 45xp. I have an insulated shop which is already adequately plumbed for air with a Quincy qt5 providing adequate air and I will need 220 ran to that portion of the shop. Primary purpose of this table is to augment my own work as well as offer cutting service in my area of rural ND. I know I will need to add the following things but please list or provide any insight of things i may be forgetting.

Motor Guard M-30 Submicronic Compressed Air Filter
Consumable kit for the Hypertherm
Ventilation fan for the table to the exterior
Material

CAD CAM software
Maybe a refrigerated drier
Desiccant drier or equivalent
water table additive
some way to transfer files to computer on table, flash drive or internet connection

2 Likes

Thanks Knick,

I already do CAD/CAM for other things so I should have listed that as taken care of. While I operated and maintained the big table we just ran straight bleach per the Techs instructions I have not considered treating the water as I will have animals running in and out of the shop. I will look into the additives

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum. It looks like you and Knick have a good preliminary list.

With the consumables, be sure to get the fine-cut for stainless steel. I have the Hypertherm 45XP and tried several times to be successful with typical consumables and was about to give up on ever cutting stainless. Tin (TinWhisperer) shared his settings with fine-cut using compressed air (no special gas) and I tried it and was amazed.