Limit switch not homing correctly (SOLVED - Reset Defaults)

I am in the process of setting up my Crossfire Pro. I ordered and installed limit switches and followed the steps for setting them up. The first problem I am encountering is that when I “home” the machine, the X axis moves to the right away from the limit switch. The jog function works correctly. Does anyone know what causes this?

Did you “reset defaults” like it says in the instructions? Failure to do that will result in homing the wrong direction.

3 Likes

I’m not going to say it. I’m not. I want to.

7 Likes

I don’t have to throw mine in the trash, because I never bought them. I’ve been running my table for years without limit switches and I don’t see the value in them for this machine.

3 Likes

LOL! I’ve been running mine WITH Limit switches for 4 years and they work great! Of course, I have an OG system with Mach 3 and a sensible homing algorithm…

Oh, please do. You’re insight is very… uh… ‘interesting’ :rofl: :rofl:

Still, David is right, installing and resetting per instructions might help a lot…

2 Likes

@phillipvr understand that BigDaddy’s comments are not directed at you. It is just that the topic of “limit switches” to him is like catnip to a cat or a motorist driving by a wreck: he is unable to avoid contact. :rofl:

1 Like

Ha, I understand. I’m wearing my big boy panties today, so my manhood remains intact. It was lazy of me to jump online and ask before doing my due dilligence. I did re-read the instructions and checked the firmware version and Firecontrol version, but felt the portion in RED that says to reset defaults, somhow escaped my notice. I will try that and see if that will correct the problem.

As to the need for limit switches, I can’t have an opinion. I saw them in the store, read a few comments as to how they improved life, ordered and installed them.