Keep water from splashing after i stop cutting

I’m making a mess every time i finish cutting. The air on my thermal dynamics cut master 58 keeps going for about 5 seconds after it stops cutting. During this time it splashes water all over. Shop floor gets real wet.

Does anyone any way to over come this?

Thanks in advance

1 Like

The easiest way is to lift the torch after every cut. I usually lift it an inch before moving to the next cut.

1 Like

I may just get a piece of something to slide under it so the air isn’t going into the water

1 Like

Sometimes the simplest answer is the best one!!

1 Like

Set your parking position so torch moves over a solid portion of the material when done. What program are you using? Sheetcam or Fusion?

4 Likes

I’m using fusion and I’m just a beginner. I have learnt a lot in the last few weeks but have miles to go. I will have to watch videos to figure out how to set my park position.

I just jog via keyboard a small amount until the tip is over solid metal. No more splashing.

4 Likes

Thanks everyone for your replies.

1 Like

If you know g-code, even if you are only a little bit familiar you can open your .nc or .tap file with Note pad or a similar program , scroll all the way down to the last G00 line just before M30. The G-code line will be G0 Z 1. or what you set usually? Change this to G0 Z 2. press enter and then add X ___ Y___ to where you know that the torch will be setting over solid material. When you change the Z position make sure that there is clearance for the amount of Z lift that you want. SAVE your changes. If you are away from the machine when it finishes it will move to your preset location and then stop. Hope this helps.

3 Likes

Thanks I will give it a try

You might consider increasing your post flow on your cutter beyond 5 seconds. I know it is currently making a mess with the water table, but the post flow is extremely important to consumable life. Best of luck.

4 Likes