Just Getting Started

Hello all - I am just getting started in the CNC world - I have a fully functioning home shop and have been doing classic car repair / restoration for decades. I am a proficient hobby MIG welder and just jumped in to learn TIG. Being 62 and learning TIG is a challenge so I thought I would pile on the whole CNC pice of things. Waiting on delivery of my Pro Table which I am planning to pair with my PrimeWeld Cut 60. Looking forward to learning from those of you who have been doing this for a while.

7 Likes

Dang sounds just like my self. Just started learning TIG and the CNC plasma. It’s a fun hobby but there is definitely a learning curve as there is with everything that’s fun.

When you got the time start watching the videos on langmuirs site to walk you through the cad/cam process and then do lots of research on dialing in your setup.

Primeweld a cut chart is a good starting point but doesn’t have all the info you will need to dial in your cuts that will need to be acquired from the forums

1 Like

I am finding that lots of information has to come from forums and actual end users. Some of the Youtube stuff is still over my head but I am having a hell of a good time learning this new stuff!

3 Likes

@Marcm157 welcome to the forum! When you have questions feel free to ask. Lots of knowledgeable and helpful folks on here. Make sure to post some of you work on here. Always fun to see what others are creating.

2 Likes

Hi All, This is going to sound like an echo but I just received my Pro and have it assembled. I also have paired it with a Primeweld 60 that should arrive tomorrow. I have trying to learn from the videos about Fusion 360 but it looks like its going to be a challenge. At 73 I hope to still be able to learn some new things. I look forward to asking for some friendly help from you Gurus.

5 Likes

It appears this is a welcoming coffee and donuts meeting for @Marcm157 and @BobC. Welcome to both of you.