Is anybody using Sheetcam?

Is anybody on here using it ? Pros/ cons ? Looking for feed back. Thx

Yes, quite a few on here are using sheetcam and I am still learning how it works but I am having good success with it so far. I tried fusion in the beginning, then found out that I could use the same software that I have used for the last few years, Vinylmaster pro 4, for the design then import it into sheetcam and create the toolpath. I just figured it was easier to learn sheetcam rather than have to learn the design software all over again.

That’s about all that I can offer since I never used Fusion for any of the items that I have cut.

Good luck.

2 Likes

True. A search on Sheetcam here on the forum has a bunch of hits for various posts.

I use both but Sheetcam is my primary for when all I am doing is toolpaths.

Downloaded fusion before table arrived and spent 20 hrs on videos MacWhorter puts out. Worked with cad software (auto cad based) for years. Found fusion anti intuitive and overly confusing. Probably great for 3d modeling i.e. router or 3d printer but unnecessary for 2d plasma work. Downloaded sheet cam and was up in running in less than 2 hrs. Very simple and have had great results. Would highly recommend.

2 Likes

I can import my image, trace it in inkscape, export it to sheetcam, run toolpath, post the file, save the job, and have the machine running before fusion even fires up… Did a video to prove it once… Think it took less that 3 minutes… Ah, here it is…

3 Likes

What all these guys said. I started out using Fusion and even though I really liked the GUI, it was just too much for me. And a big factor for me was the cloud storage. I want my stuff locally - not on someone else’s server.

Sheetcam is owned by a guy who responds to emails. He is personable, professional and realistic. Sheetcam is basic, but has the features most of us need. It’s not a design suite, it’s basically nesting software on steroids without all the fanfare.

1 Like