Intro and questions

Hello, new user here thanks to Black Friday! I have zero experience with CNC of any type but have a decent amount of hand fabrication in my home shop. Mostly auto parts, decorative metal and such.

I just lucked into a used HYpertherm Powermax 85 (not SYNC) that I plan to use with the CrossFire PRO I just ordered.

My questions:

1. Should I get a machine torch? Is the bang for the buck there? I have a hand torch already and still plan to do more hand cuts than cuts on the CNC. For now anyways…LOL

2. Should I get the CPC upgrade kit for the 85? If so is there a cable I need? If not, how does the wiring work for the hand torch?

3. Any advice from other users who have a similar setup already?

Thanks for the help!

Welcome to the forum.

YES, YES, YES! But you can get by with the hand torch. The table comes with the hand torch mount and thousands of people use nothing but the hand torch and mount.

If you buy the CPC upgrade you have to open the machine. Since you are opening the machine, you might as well skip the expense of the upgrade and just wire direct. If you decide to go with the CPC upgrade, that will commit you to the machine torch. Langmuir does have a cable specific for Hypertherm.

I have the CPC port with a cable from Langmuir specifically for Hypertherm. My unit is the 45XP. So I do not have your actual set up. Others will be along to chime in.

Enjoy the journey and again, welcome!

4 Likes

Thanks!

If I go machine torch and CPC can I just unplug the machine torch and plug in the hand torch and start cutting by hand? Your reply made it sound like that’s not how it works?

1 Like

Yes, all you need to do is unplug the machine torch and unplug the CPC connection (to be safe) and you are free to plug the hand torch in and ready to go. Once those two connections are pulled, you are totally disconnected from the table.