Importing a Fireshare file to Fusion 360

Hey guys so Im brand new at all this and just finished up my break in and ready to cut out my first part, I went through all of the tutorials for Fusion 360 but not sure how to Import one of the Fireshare files to Fusion 360. Id like to make a couple of the tool hangers as my first cut but not sure what I need to do.

I’d include a link to several posts I did detailing the steps but I’m on my phone & searching isn’t working well.

But if you search for “Fusion 360” or “Fusion DXF” or “importing DXF” there are several in the Nov/Dec timeframe I posted with lots of pictures and explanations that were helpful for people who didn’t relate well to the video type of tutorial.

I’ll look for them later this weekend if you don’t find them beforehand but I’m at my son’s graduation so it won’t be before tomorrow.

1 Like

Hey I was unable to find the post you were advising me about. I did see a post where you explained you have to open up a drawing on Fusion 360 and then download the fireshare file to it. Not sure exactly how to do that yet but its a step forward. I really appreciate any help you could give.

Download the file from Fileshare. It should end up in your Downloads folder on your PC.

Startup Fusion 360. Make sure you’re in the Model workspace - menu option on the upper left.

Click on Create a Sketch. Pick the X-Z plane in the perspective picture in the center of the screen. This is the “bottom”. The workspace will reorient to show you a top-down view of it.

Click on the Insert menu in the toolbar. Pick DXF. A pop-up box will show to the right and has a file folder with None next to it. That means you haven’t picked a file. Click it and a standard Windows file picker box shows up. Navigate to the Downloads folder on your machine (it should be a quicklink entry). click on the file you downloaded.