I'm lovin' Sheetcam

I’ve been using my crossfire for about 3 months, so I’m relatively new to plasma CNC, but I’m not new to CAD or gcode controlled CNC machines. I didn’t find Fusion 360 difficult, but I found it super tedious and lengthy to go thru all the steps from importing a 2D design to getting my gcode generated.

I design outside Fusion and previously imported SVG files into fusion. And tinkering with the Fusion 360 SVG import and playing with the scale factor to get my SVG to be the right size inside Fusion 360 was making the workflow in Fusion 360 take even longer.

So I bit the bullet and bought Sheetcam. It wish I started initially using Sheetcam rather than Fusion 360 because:

1. of the ease and small number of steps and clicks to go from importing a design (SVG or DXF for me) and having my gcode ready. Designing and cutting on any CNC is an iterative process, so it is so helpful to have software tooling, like Sheetcam, that allows me to do my work quickly. Fusion 360 is such an involved and complicated process, so I had to follow notes to make sure I did every step correctly, which was always a pain. Sheetcam is so simple that I can navigate it without any notes easily and quickly. And

2. when I import my SVG files into Sheetcam, I do not have to manually resize them because the EXACT size from my design software is reflected in Sheetcam. This is HUGE for me, given that I was not designing in Fusion 360. This alone was worth the money I paid for Sheetcam.

As others have recommended in this forum, I watched the videos from Arclight Dynamics. I think I spent max of 2 hours and I know everything I need to know to use Sheetcam and have not had any issues.