Hypertherm sync/fire control question

I am new to cnc. I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around how this works.

I have a hypertherm 85 sync. It sets air pressure and amps automatically for the cartridge installed.
The hypertherm cut charts don’t list a psi. Just scfh for cut and post flow

As I process through cam in fusion360 It also has me set amps and psi.

Which set of parameters take priority?

Your machine will take precedence.

That PSI data does not get handed over to the post processor neither does the amperage data.

Some different post processor that aren’t for the langmuir system May utilize this data.

Fill it out just so you can move along to create tool paths and fusion 360. I do not believe this data informs the post processor in any way.

1 Like

Perfect. Exactly what I need to know. Thank you @TinWhisperer

Another question … in the hypertherm cut charts the cutting power is listed as arc voltage. The machine is in amps. How do I know what amp value to set the cutter at?

Here is an example of a hypertherm cut chart.

On almost hypertherm cut chart ( besides marking and fine cuts) the amperage is listed at the top of the page.
For fine cuts and marking it’s listed in the chart itself.

The voltage listed in the cut charts is for the nominal voltage box and fire control. You can choose to use this or smart voltage. I almost always use nominal voltage myself.

Before the cut charts start and all the hypotherm manuals they do give a breakdown of the terminology and how the cut chart is used.

But It doesn’t cover the voltage part

2 Likes