Hi from sunny Italy

Hi, I’m a graphic and web designer from England but have lived in Italy for 13 years.
My graphic design business has been struggling since Covid, so I’ve been looking to diversify.
I saw a football club crest on a Facebook group I am in. Someone had cut the crest into stainless steel, polished it and added wall mounting brackets. It looked fantastic.
Since then my mind has been in overdrive thinking of all the different things I can design, produce and sell online.
Adobe illustrator is my go to software so I hope that I can design on there and upload the designs into the CAD CAM software.
I’ve only ever cut metal using a vice and a hacksaw so I’ve got a steep learning curve ahead of me.
Cheers.

1 Like

first, welcome to the forum…
next…Italy is lovely…spent 3 weeks there traveling from Naples all through Italy…up to lake Garda…and out through Innsbruk Austria…amazing country…

now on to the metal side of things…

you are already ahead in the learning curve if you can design in Adobe…so you know your SVG file format…well ahead of the game.

from there I would recommend you get Sheetcam…minimal price really through Langmuir…that is the CAM software that works really well…and is fully compatable with Firecontrol…not only that but the developer for sheetcam drops by here from time to time.

1/3 of your learning curve is done…the cutting part I find was the easiest…

good luck and welcome

1 Like

From my experience you’re more than halfway there. The CAM part of CAD/CAM gets all the attention because you get to see the machine cutting something out. But the design part is the one that most people take for granted. It’s only once they get started that they find out there’s effort to make something the machine will cut.