Hello! New from Topanga, CA

Just pulled the trigger on a Crossfire. I’m an artist and we’ll see where this journey takes us. I’ve always wanted to do Kinetic Sculpture, and combined with a CNC Tormach mill and a lot of forging skills (I make knives and swords as well), I’m thinking this will allow me to cut gears, pulleys, etc., as well as shapes I can then dish and form.

I’m well versed in CNC and G-code as I have a Tormach Mill, though I’m self taught. I design on Autodesk Inventor, and use BobCam. I know Inventor will work fine, but the cam program may be more problematic.

I purchased the basic 2x2 unit, and am thinking about whether the Z-axis is needed now. I believe I can always add it on for the same price.

Been reading up on the forum and you all look to be a helpful bunch, I look forward to handouts of knowledge from the hive mind! Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I’d recommend the Z-axis and Sheetcam for CAM and post processing.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

I concur with @ds690 , get the Z Axis and THC. They will allow you to compensate for any warp that happens when cutting thin material and will also compensate for any sag the cantilevered arm of the 2x2 table. The cant can be adjusted, but it’s a PITA to maintain. No need to worry about it if you have THC.

if any of your programs export in SVG or DFX…then I would recommend sheetcam…easy to use and easy to learn.

Welcome to the forum…

Thanks all!

I’m seriously considering the z-axis. I just figured I had a little time to decide, it is not an inconsiderable cost. Shipping is 5-7 weeks out.