Hello from Texas. New guy here, ready to learn

Hi everyone. I’m completely new to this industry and I’m very excited to be here . Looking forward to meet and learn from a lot of people here in this forum. I have been reading some of the experiences that a lot of members have been posting and I’m blown away, most definitely a long road ahead of me in this new journey.
Any suggestions , recommendations for a good starting point for a completely new guy? ( videos , tutorials, websites , etc.)
I have the Crossfire Pro ready, just yesterday ran the break in program with no issues, the Razor weld 45 and a 60 gallon compressor are connected and ready to go. As far as software I haven’t downloaded anything other than the Fire Control.
I appreciate anything you guys can throw at me . Thank you.

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum! This forum has a lot of very helpful and experienced cutters. Give as many details as you can when asking for help and you’ll probably get a solid answer pretty quickly.

As for software, most people use either Fusion 360 (“Non-Commercial” version is free) for both CAD and CAM, or they use Inkscpae for CAD and SheetCAM. I use F360 and really like Tyler Beck YouTube videos for the basics of CAD.

Sign up for Fireshare and there are a lot of cut ready fun things to try until you can get up to speed on CAD/CAM.

Use the Langmuir tutorials to get a lot of the basics of workflow and initial steps. You’ll need to download from Langmuir a post processor to use with F360 or SheetCAM.

Good luck and hope you enjoy your new hobby (or job?)!

3 Likes

Welcome!

These helped me a lot when I first got my machine running and calibrated but wasn’t really sure where to go from there…

https://www.langmuirsystems.com/software/fusion

Learn the basics of drawing a simple part, learn how to create a tool library and extrude a part to generate the cut file and then send it over to FireControl and see if it will actually cut it out. :slight_smile:

-TM

3 Likes