Hello from Northern Ontario Canada

I am 22 years old and from Canada. I worked as a welder-fabricator apprentice from 17-20 until I went to college for business.

I am almost done assembling my cross fire pro. (opening electronics box this morning) Very excited to get it working & start producing my metal art :slight_smile:

(hoping i can make my first cut later today)

Always looking for new people to connect with, learn from, and even share my knowledge with. My inbox is always open to kind hearted people who love to share ideas.

1 Like

Welcome!

A good group of folks on here for feedback and support and there’s lots of gold on here if you just search a little bit. Have had my XL for about 6 months and love it. Z axis/THC came in yesterday so now I’m into a whole new learning curve myself! :grin:

One tip that helped me was to start small and simple to get the process down from drawing to post processing. Saved a lot of frustration for me. I now do most of my drawing in Fusion for dimensional stuff and Inkscape (and I’m now learning Affinity Designer) for the arty stuff. I’ve moved to Sheetcam for my post processing . I find it a heck of a lot nicer to use than the Fusion post processor.

Enjoy!! And show us pics of stuff of course :+1:

3 Likes

ya already know my story…key points

• grumpy
  • spend way too much time here…love it though
  • always telling people to use the search function…maybe a little to much
  • always willing to help…
1 Like

the first post i made you explained the search function lol! (which is good cause i don’t wanna be the one re-creating posts)

1 Like

i’m fairly decent for a beginner for the design aspect (cad) but will have to get use to the CAM aspect. I have designed previous cuts for my old boss to cut for me but never had to deal with the CAM part. I’ll definitely start slow with all of that.

What plasma unit are you wiring your THC too?? I’m gonna be tackling that this afternoon hopefully.

Almost ready to do my first jog!